This blog moves to SciLogs.com

Pavel and I have been too busy to blog for a while (my excuse being that I am in the final stages of my PhD studies). This is also why we did not announce this sooner: Our blog has moved from SciLogs.eu to SciLogs.com. The new site provides an improved blogging system and maybe more international visibility, as well as a pleasant neighborhood of science bloggers. The new URL for "The Dark Matter Crisis" is http://www.scilogs.com/the-dark-matter-crisis/. All future articles will be published there, but the old ones will remain accessible here on SciLogs.eu.

The first article on the ‘new’ blog deals with last week’s Nature article by Rodrigo Ibata and collaborators: "A Vast Thin Plane of Co-rotating Dwarf Galaxies Orbiting the Andromeda Galaxy". While the media currently focusses on the 15-year old co-author of the Nature study, the scientific implications of the study are no less spectacular. The co-rotating plane of satellite galaxies around Andromeda resembles the VPOS around the Milky Way and therefore similar formation scenarios are plausible, which we discuss in our article "Andromeda’s satellites behave as expected … if they are tidal dwarf galaxies".

Author: Marcel S. Pawlowski

I am a postdoc at the Department for Astronomy of Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, OH (soon Hubble Fellow at UC Irvine). My work revolves around tidal dwarf galaxies – second-generation galaxies forming from the debris of galaxy collisions – and their use for testing models explaining the dark matter phenomenon. During my PhD studies in Bonn (in Pavel's group) my research concentrated on the phase-space distribution of the Milky Way's satellites (dwarf galaxies, globular clusters and tidal streams), their possible formation scenarios (in particular tidal dwarf galaxies) and tests of cosmological models on (cosmologically) small scales. My research interests are complemented by my interest in the philosophy of science and in science outreach. You can follow me on Twitter (@8minutesold) or find out more about me and my photography on my websites (http://marcelpawlowski.com & http://8minutesold.com).

Leave a Reply

